The Hunger Games – **

Posted: April 12, 2012 in 2012, Drama, Science Fiction, Thriller, USA, XX

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1392170/

Having just seen Winter’s Bone, I decided to go see The Hunger Games as well. It stars the same actress and it keeps on attracting more and more viewers, so it couldn’t be all that bad, right? The synopsis didn’t appeal to me at all and I don’t really belong to the target audience according to some media. But even though the story is sick (24 kids get dumped into a monitored wilderness and only one can survive) and it really is a movie for teenage girls, I actually quite liked it overall. It’s well scripted with enough interesting (yet predictable) turning points in the plot to keep the story moving. Jennifer Lawrence is able to carry the whole movie (the other actors are just mediocre). And fortunately there is no gore or cheap sentiment.

I read that the movie referred to dark teenage fables like the Twilight trilogy or the Japanese horror classic Battle Royale, but I failed to see the comparison. It’s not the most original story, but I had not quite seen anything like this before. What I really appreciated was the fact that the movie does make you think, which is rare for a blockbuster movie for kids. I saw it as a critique against all these reality tv shows we see, where tv producers push the contestants to say and do things they would normally never do. I think there are more similarities to The Truman Show really.

Even though the story is set in an undefined future, it did look quite similar to the world we live in today. Actually the future as it is shown, looks like the future shown in movies of the nineties. I had to think of The Fifth Element when I saw the colourful but quirky costumes and hairdos of the well-off. The poor (of whom 24 children are selected) look like they live in the late 1800s. Very strange contrast. But that didn’t bother me that much. I actually taught the idea was quite believable, until the tv show manipulators started to created monsters. It’s one thing to create fire, storms, rain, etc… It’s another thing to create monsters out of nothing. Sorry. That’s when I lost some interest and where the movie lost half a star in my rating.

I thought it was interesting to have watched Winter’s Bone just before seeing this. Cause that movie almost feels like a prequel. A young girl stuck with a little sister (and brother) in a poor area out to beat the environment around her… Yeah, pretty similar. 😉

Leave a Reply

