Iron Man 3 – *

Posted: April 26, 2013 in 2013, Action, Fantasy, Science Fiction, USA, X
Tags: ,

A friend invited me to go see Iron Man 3. I didn’t even know there was a third instalment on its way, especially since the atypical superhero was one of the main characters in last year’s (incomprehensibly popular) The Avengers. But it’s this weekend’s most anticipated release and my friend is a fan. I don’t like this franchise at all, but I like my friend, and I could do with some mindless entertainment, so I accepted the invitation.

It won’t come as a surprise when I write that the story is crap. Something about a scientist who once got humiliated by Mr Stark and years later teams up with a super villain who uses his invention (which reproduces body parts once they are damaged) for a bad cause. But I have to admit that I was entertained thanks to the funny dialogue. Especially between Iron Man/Tony Stark and his sidekick Warrior Machine/James Rhodes. And between Tony Stark and a young Tennessee kid whose help he needs throughout the movie. The acting is quite acceptable, with notable mentions for Don Cheadle, Ty Simpkins (as the kid) and Ben Kingsley who plays the super villain. Too bad Robert Downey Jr’s Iron Man acts and sounds like his Sherlock Holmes, just in a different costume.

Yet, however funny some of the dialogue is, in the end this is a crap movie. The special effects and the action scenes look like they were shot in the eighties. There’s nothing original or cool about them at all. The locations are far from being inventive (a Malibu house on a cliff, an oil rig) and I’ve seen b-movies with better fights than here. You have to wait until the end credits to see some real cinematic magic. I guess this is just for the fans (and their friends).

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1300854

Leave a Reply

