The Great Gatsby – *

Posted: May 23, 2013 in 2013, Drama, USA, X

They movie isn’t crap, but it sure has a lot of crappy moments.

For starters, there’s the (over)acting. It’s terrible. Not even DiCaprio is convincing and just does what he always does: be DiCaprio. Hasn’t he learned anything from his master performance in Django Unchained

Then there’s the god awful soundtrack. Using contemporary songs in a historic setting worked so well in Moulin Rouge, but it doesn’t work at all in this movie. Primarily because the story doesn’t really lend to it, but also because the choice of songs is horrible.

I saw the movie in regular format, but it was very clear that this is meant to be seen in 3D. However, none of those 3D effects add anything to the visual splendor that the movie aims to achieve.

And if I hear the expression ‘old sport’ again at the cinema, I’ll run out and kill myself. I don’t care if the character says it 94 times in the novel. It annoyed the hell out of me in this movie.

But in the end, I never looked at my watch and just finished the ride, leaving me wondering why I really cared about this poor man turned filthy rich all in order to get the girl he once left behind…

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1343092 

Comments
  1. juneoh says:

    Interesting to hear that it’s meant to be seen in 3D from someone watched it in 2D while I thought it’s meant to be seen in 2D after watched it in 3D. After all, I agreed about the starters but not about ‘old sport’. I was kind of enjoying it. XD

Leave a Reply

